top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Williams

'I figured I had nothing to lose'...

Updated: Sep 26, 2018

About 9 months after my baby was born, my doctor diagnosed me with PND. I was struggling to get out of bed some days, had little energy, and I was not taking enjoyment out of things that I used to. He suggested some medication might help me, even if I tried it for 6 months. I had been anti medication prior to my diagnosis, so I thought about it for a couple of days before beginning. I suppose I was also in denial about my diagnosis as I thought I only had low iron levels, not PND. Along with the medication, I knew that I needed to take other steps in order to get well. I heard about Mothers Helpers from my Osteopath. I did some research and got in contact with them to start one of their PND courses. I figured I had nothing to lose.


I completed the PND Recovery Course via the online sessions for 10 weeks. As I’m a full time, stay at home Mum, I found this the most convenient and affordable option. It was great that this was on offer. Each week we discussed different areas of PND. There was plenty of interesting information that we talked about and I learned a lot about PND in this short time. If I felt like it, I was given time to share and discuss my feelings/experiences with the group. It felt good to talk about my experiences and I also liked hearing stories from others as it made me feel as though I was not alone.

I have more of an awareness of PND, looking at recovery as a holistic approach. I am now able to notice my triggers and how to manage these better.

Mary is an awesome facilitator! I felt very comfortable with her from the beginning. She is friendly, approachable, and accommodating. Mary has even been in contact with me, checking in, since I’ve completed the course. It’s nice to know I can reach out to her again if I ever need to.


Kirsten Dowd, Auckland


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page