top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Williams

Bethnie shares her breakthrough...


When I was diagnosed with Post Natal Depression I was only given medication, a band aid to help get me through the long and tiring days. But somehow, I knew that there was more to my recovery than just medication and I was determined to find more support. Unfortunately, after searching and making calls, I found there was not much support for PND in my area.

However, a good friend (in Australia) sent me a link for Mother’s Helpers in an effort to help me find that extra support that I was so desperately looking for. I looked at the website and watched the promotional video a number of times before I made contact. I remember thinking “this is me, if these ladies can feel better and change their life, then so can I”. I didn’t just want to take medication, I wanted to be proactive, learn about PND and recover. I decided I’d like to try the Post Natal Depression 10 Week Recovery program but I was still a bit nervous. After discussing it with my sister and with her encouragement and support, I took that first big step of filling in the contact information and I have not looked back.

The PND Recovery course was amazing and a crucial to part to my recovery. As I walked through this journey, the course really helped me to understand this disease and some steps that I could take towards my recovery. With the detailed knowledge of PND I learned through this course, I was able to realise the triggers and symptoms of when I would start to feel down and anxious. When this would happen I would remember the many tools the course had given me, and the support my facilitator gave me each week. But most importantly, I believed in who I was and the job that I was doing as a mother. My mind set had shifted and this in itself gave me the confidence I needed to change my life and to work towards my recovery.

If you have even slight interest in this course, I would completely and highly recommend it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Be brave, go ahead and make contact, you won’t regret it.

My experience with my PND Recovery Facilitator, Mary Williams, was life changing. Mary and I met weekly online and I would look forward to our sessions. It didn’t matter how I was feeling, Mary was always warm, sensitive and encouraging. Mary’s gentle, supportive approach to facilitating this course, made me feel comfortable and relaxed enough to be open and engaging in our sessions. Life can always change and throw things our way and Mary was always understanding, flexible and accommodating to our sessions.

Mary had a great understanding of this subject and related well to my various situations. Mary was there for me when I needed someone the most on this journey of PND. She gave me the knowledge and tools I needed to help towards my recovery. I felt completely at ease with Mary and now feel like I’ve gained a life-long friend. I would highly recommend Mary as a PND Facilitator and think you are very blessed if you get to walk this journey with her.





114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page